top of page
  • Writer's pictureLatonia Jones

HBCUs FOREVER!

"I believe that it is time for HBCUs to become more aggressive in going after contract opportunities. We need a battle cry."

Considering the most recent buzz with the release of the Black Panther movie, I decided to write a blog that was more personal and hope you will gain some insight into a mind of an HBCU graduate.


One of my favorite lines from the Black Panther movie was “Wakanda Forever” because of the strength and the conviction in their voices as they used this phrase as their battle cry. This battle cry signified purpose and commitment to their cause and, of course, they followed it up with action. That leads me to my second favorite line: “We will no longer watch from the shadows.”


I believe that it is time for HBCUs to become more aggressive in going after contract opportunities we need a battle cry, we can longer live in this grant world and stand by and watch majority institutions gain access to funding outside of the normal means. We should strike while the iron is hot.


What do I mean, why do I believe the iron is hot or at least lukewarm? On February 27, 2018 President Trump signed an Executive Order announcing the President’s Board of Advisors on HBCUs. President Trump was the earliest any President had signed an Order on HBCUs. But just like I am watching the NASA Road Tour, I am also watching to see exactly what this order will do to change opportunities for HBCUs.


I believe this can be an open door for us to walk through and be vigilant about pushing agencies to “regularly interact with HBCUs to develop annual plans to strengthen the capacity of our schools” as stated in order.


See more on this at:


As Shuri, the innovative little sister who reminds me of most of the HBCU students I work with states, “just because something works, doesn’t mean it can’t be improved.” Wow, Amen to that. I believe we (HBCUs) have become content with grants work. The question is do they work meaning are they profitable ,or is it easy.


I believe we should take a page out the Black Panther movie script and look around to explore other universities outside of the HBCU realm and see what works for them and adopt elements of their plan that fits within our capabilities.


We can no longer let our mistakes define who we are; we must decide what kind of universities we are going to be. It is time for a change.


Each HBCU has a unique capability it is their “vibranium.” Although vibranium is a fictional metal, it is an effective analogy for the representation of the precious resources that HBCUs must protect yet share in the right environment to produce revenue and increase our significance as a University not just an HBCU.


Wakanda is the world’s most technologically advanced nations in its fictional world. I believe with the right resources, in the right environment, and with the awards of substantial government contracts, HBCUs can begin to increase in technology far above we can ever imagine.


So I will end with this battle cry to ignite a sense of urgency for those interested in the transformation, or should I say, illumination of HBCUs. HBCUs FOREVER!!

286 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PMP Intelligence

bottom of page